Using the 'Close' Button
When a purchase order has been closed in NCAS but still remains open within NC E-Procurement, it is possible to close the purchase order in NC E-Procurement without the need to submit a receipt or change order.  Indeed, attempting to  submit a receipt or create a change order may cause an NCAS encumbrance failure message to occur.  Instead, users have the option to close purchase orders manually.  After searching directly for the purchase order, the ‘Close’ button will appear and gives users three options:
  • Close Order For Change – Prevents users from changing the purchase order in the future. Users will still be able to receive on the purchase order until it is fully received.
  • Close Order For Receiving – Sets the status of the purchase order to ‘Received’ and prevents users from changing or receiving on the purchase order.
  • Close Order For All Actions – Sets the status of the purchase order to ‘Received’ and prevents users from changing or receiving on the purchase order.
To reopen an order that has been manually closed using the ‘Close’ button, search for the purchase order and click the ‘Reopen’ order button.
Note: Only the user in the ‘On Behalf Of’ field of the eRequisition will have the ‘Reopen’ button on a purchase order that has been closed via the ‘Close’ button.
Close Button

Note: For more detailed instructions on how to use the ‘Close’ button, please review the ‘Manually Closing an Order’ section of the ‘Receiving a Line Item’ job aid found on the NC E-Procurement User Training web site.